When you are caught in possession of drugs in Massachusetts, the first time offense is considered a misdemeanor. This charge is given no matter the type of drug in the individual’s possession. However, despite the misdemeanor charge, the consequences are still negative. A conviction of a drug offense can create a damaging criminal record and loss of drivers license. At the Law Office of Amanda Dowgiert, we can provide legal assistance when it comes to drug charges, including first-time possession as well as multiple charges.
The most serious charges stem from beginning in possession of heroin. The maximum penalty will be provided for all first-time possession charges when heroin is involved. If an individual is convicted of possessing heroin, they can face up to two years in prison and a maximum of $2,000 in fines. When convicted with possession of the substance, the driver’s license of the individual will be suspended for a minimum of one year.
A second charge of possession can be prosecuted as a felony charge. A felony can see the individual face as many as five years in prison. When you are caught in possession of heroin, it is important to have an experienced criminal attorney by your side. Our law office can assist by reviewing your case and focusing on fighting the charge or reduced sentencing.
In the past, a marijuana possession charge would result in jail time as well as losing the drivers license in Massachusetts. However, a legal change has made the way one is charged vary. Anyone with possession of under one ounce of marijuana will be fined $100. An appearance in court is not required and the individual will not have a criminal record due to the incident.
However, if you are found with over an ounce of marijuana in your possession, then criminal charges can be filed. A jail sentence can still be handed down and the driver’s license of the individual can be suspended for one year at a minimum.
Other Drug Possession
If you are found with other drugs in your possession, such as methamphetamine or oxycontin, then you can face serious consequences as well. Other drugs in your possession can result in a minimum of one year in jail as well as a fine up to $1,000 for a first-time offense.
When you face drug possession charges, it is important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney. Particularly for first-timers, you probably have no idea what is going on and do not understand the steps you need to take to try your case. With our help, you will have an experienced legal team by your side to help fight your case.
Our team of attorneys has vast experience in dealing with drug possession charges. With our help, we can review the details of your case and prepare a solid defense. If you or someone you love is currently facing drug possession related charges, give our office a call. We are happy to schedule a consultation to help you build a strong case.